Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Food-grade woods for baby toys

agnieszka
Just Starting Out

Food-grade woods for baby toys

Hi,

Starting my woodworking journey hoping to build small/simple projects, e.g. baby toys and cutting boards.

I have conducted some internet searches on suitable woods, and these are often listed as: maple, walnut, birch, ash. However I suspect these lists are targeted at American woodworkers as I cannot find where to buy these woods in NSW (I'm on Central Coast). I know other woods can be sealed, but babies are 'mouthy' and might chew through to the timber beneath.

What suitable hardwoods are available locally, and where can I source/buy these? Recall I am a beginning woodworker, so I do not have jointer, thicknesser, nor do I know how to joint and thickness raw sawn wood using hand tools or basic power tools. I think the term I'm looking for is that I would need "dressed" timber?

....or, am I seriously overthinking this?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Agnieszka.

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Food-grade woods for baby toys

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @agnieszka. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about selecting timber for baby toys.

It's great to hear you're embarking on the journey into woodworking. We have plenty of skilled and knowledgeable members, so you've come to the right place.

Typically, you'll find most baby toys are made from non-treated Pine. It's lightweight, easy to work with, reasonably robust and non-poisonous. We have a wide selection of DAR (dressed) Pine