Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to use an electric drill?

REL-B
Finding My Feet

How to use an electric drill?

Hi everyone,

Before I begin please be aware that I’m a complete NEWBIE in regards to home improvements so please be patient with my very basic questions and inquiries. 

I would like to know the best way to learn how to use an electric drill as I want to mount security cameras to the outside of my house. I have a drill and all screws ets needed but just want to learn how to use it first before I get up on the ladder and try it.

Thank you for your help and again please be patient with me !!! 🤓

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: NEWBIE needs advice

Hi @REL-B 

Every single person in the forum started  with zero skills so it is really good you want to learn @REL-B  The more people you learn off the broarder  your skills will be. As your skills grow  you will learn similar skills more faster like a snow ball down hill

We can help you naterally but typing  responses isnt as good as as  watching plenty of  you tubes and bunning how to videos on the side to fast  track your knowlegde.

Do you own a drill yet please share you drill type  as different drills work best with certain techniques we  can mention.

So I will talk you through the first steps I am hoping you wont understand everything which is a great opertunity to ask more questions along the way.

Now  about you planned job  Camera job make sure you have  a comfortable safe non wobbly ladder  as  you will need to be close to ceiling to drill comfortably with cameras. It would be  best to practice screwing into a scrape bit of wood at waist height with good support and comfortable foot spacing to get the hang of this.  First learn to screw downwards into wood.