Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How do I fix black/brown leaves of my magnolia plants?

Pradeepk
Getting Established

How do I fix black/brown leaves of my magnolia plants?

Am seeing that my magnolia plants are having brown/black leaves as seen in the image below. I got these magnolia plants only in the month of August and replanted them sometime in late September. They were fine when they were in the pots.

Please suggest some ideas to fix these plants.

IMG_0228.jpgIMG_0227.jpgIMG_0226.jpg

brendawebster44
Making a Splash

Re: How do I fix black/brown leaves of my magnolia plants?

Hello, now I’m just a novice so please check my facts with Eric. It looks like rust to me in which place you will need a good anti fungicide as in copper sulfate. It’s a virus but before you go to WHO please check with Eric cos that’s who I stole it from. OR you could just be watering it too much.OR not enough causing stress on the plant. I know my plants are funny like that. I try to place them were they are happy. The other thing I do is when potting up is put broken stones at the bottom of the pot to help with drainage. How is your drainage? I just enlarged my photo and it does and doesn’t look like rust, I did say ask the experts.However too much water or not enough and a sunny position and drainage is all a factor for doing the right thing by your plants b🌺

Hello @Pradeepk

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. Thank you so much for joining us and sharing your question about how to fix the brown leaves of your Magnolia.