Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to grow straight carrots in raised garden beds

Andy_J
Building a Reputation

How to grow straight carrots in raised garden beds

Hello Everyone,

I am new to gardening and tried my luck at growing carrots.

The carrots were OK but are stunted. Harvest pic

IMG_2733.jpg

So I wanted to see if anyone knows any tips or pointers to grow straight carrots.

Thank you in advance 

Andy

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to grow straight carrots in raised garden beds

Hi @Andy_J,

Many thanks for your question. As I was mentioning I would be interested in knowing the secrets of growing straight carrots. I've included a picture below of how all of mine have turned out.

I'm growing mine in a raised garden bed of approximately 750mm depth, so I don't believe it is a lack of soil depth in my circumstance. The soil I am growing in is reasonable, but I wouldn't say it is great. It was a combination of mid-priced potting mix, compost and cow manure. There is a chance I went a little to heavy on the cow manure, but everything seems to be loving it. The soil is a fairly open and loose mix which is certainly not compacted as it is a new bed.

Let me mention @Adam_W, @Noelle and @mich1972 to see if they can enlighten us on the mystery of stunted carrots.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

For my root vegies, I sieve my garden soil mix through a home made mesh frame so the soil is loose and also free from hard clumps that may get in the way of a newly formed vegetable or roots.

I also make sure there is depth to the soil, so  carrots can grow down and potatoes can grow up.

I've had good results so far, so I just stick to this method. That and feeding them at planting and during growing of course.

I'm no expert though, so I may just be very lucky so far. 😁

Andy_J
Building a Reputation

Thanks Rattle.