Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to maintain my sandy garden

NumeroUno
Cultivating a Following

How to maintain my sandy garden

Hi All

I need advice on how to improve my fruit trees, roses, marigold, passion fruit and jasmine plants. These were planted in April with manure and topped with mulch.and flourished slowly. I am an amateur gardener looking to learn more and welcome any advice!

Currently, the fruit trees are growing but still look the same. The plants and roses are not doing well and got yellow leaves in parts and not much growth of flowers.  The marigolds look almost dead!

Do i top up the soil with something, e.g. top soil or compost or manure or seaweed solution.  Was told we only need to top up with manure once a year? What's required to maintain them?

The plants are watered every alternate day.

Any product recommendations at bunnings? TIA

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to maintain my sandy garden

Hi @NumeroUno,

You have got a whole spectrum of different plants there that most likely they will need individually tailored advice for their care and afflictions. It would be helpful if you could supply pictures of the plants which are having the most difficulty so our members can get a better understanding of what might be going on. Also, can you please let us know what amount of sun each plant is receiving throughout the day.

I wouldn't expect a whole heap of growth in the same year of planting. A certain amount of stress and damage is caused when a plant is re-potted or planted in the ground. They need time to recover from this.

What type of manure did you use and in what quantity? If the plants initially flourished slowly and have tapered off now perhaps the manure needs to be re-applied. There are rose and citrus fertilisers which are specifically tailored to suit these plants needs.