Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to save my plants! Absolute Newb in the garden!

DarylS
Growing in Experience

How to save my plants! Absolute Newb in the garden!

Hi All, 

Desperately seeking some help to save my plants. 
I'm a complete novice when it comes to gardening. 
These plants are located in Frankston VIC. The soil is very much sand here. I did put some potting mix soil in before i planted these plants about 1yr ago now.  
By my own admission, I am a lazy gardner and rarely water the plants (but am very keen to make a mends, turns out standing out there with the hose is actually somewhat relaxing and rewarding i only recently found out). I've tried seasol solutions and also a fungicide to little avail over 6 months ago. 

1. I have a Rubber Tree in a pot on my front porch that has some leaves turning brown, is it fungus? 
The front porch receives next to no sun for the majority of the day, then baking hot sun (when it decides to come out in Melb) from about 4pm-7pm. 

2. I have these green ball like grass things, i can't recall what they were called.
They were going strong but browning on the tips and now they're browning quite considerably throughout. Are they lacking water? 
They receive sun from about 3pm onwards. 

3. I have these varigated things also i transposed from a friends yard around the corner however they have developed holes in the leaves and don't look so spritely. Again is this fungus? 

4. I have two ball tree's which were making steady progress but have recently begun to turn brown on the tips of some of the leaves. 
Again, is it likely they just need water? 

5. Nandina's. Meant to be the hardiest of the plants however they're also failing to thrive? 
They receive sun from about 12pm onwards.