Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

I don't know what to do on my bad looking front yard

JoseCunha
Finding My Feet

I don't know what to do on my bad looking front yard

Hi everyone,

I'm excited to be part of this community. Saw a few discussions and I'm pretty sure I'll learn a lot from you.

First to introduce myself, I'm Jose. My family and I just moved into a new house.

Basically, I'm new to this community, I'm new to gardening, I'm even new to living in a house and having a garden to keep.

The only thing I know is my front yard doesn't look great to say the least. To me it looks like ugly bush that was given up on any care by previous tenants who lived here.

I'm sharing a few photos I was wondering what should I do?

Any advice, recommendation, tip on how to build up a project from scratch, or only keeping what we have, or what tools are must have, or anything you see relevant will super appreciated.

I had a quick conversation with property owners and they might or might not be willing to spend on this, but they seem to be pretty easy going in terms of suggestions for modifications.

I'm just willing to learn as much as possible but my apologies in advance for my complete absence of knowledge on this.

Thank you

20220320_111240.jpg20220320_111256.jpg20220320_111300.jpg20220320_111310.jpg20220320_111325.jpg

BradN
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: I don't know what to do on my bad looking front yard

Hi @JoseCunha , and welcome to the community. What a fun and interesting time you have ahead of you starting a new garden from scratch!

It looks like the previous residents wanted a very tough, low-maintenance garden, and they certainly have that - though it's certainly not very exciting. Those big, strappy things look like Lomandra hystrix, which is a good, tough native plant, but is typically used for landscaping bigger areas, not as a feature plant in a small spot like that.