Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

New project creating a vegie and herb garden

Storm77
Getting Established

New project creating a vegie and herb garden

Hi Fellow workshoppers,

Hi I have this area (well really....a little of an eye sore/wasted space) in my backyard and was thinking out turning it into a vegie/herb garden.  It is quite a large area, so may only use half of the space.

Please help with any advice or any suggestions regarding the layout, materials to use/recycle for edging as I have 2 dogs to keep off it or anything in general.  I am a complete novice in this area, so any help you can offer would be fantastic.

Thanks 😁

received_830394230877869.jpeg

Storm77
JaneK
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: NEW PROJECT - VEGIE/HERB GARDEN

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Storm77 and thanks for sharing this exciting project.

@Adam_W has put together this handy guide on how to plan a garden makeover. I'm sure our community members will have lots of great suggestions and advice on how to use this space. Let me tag @Noelle who may have some thoughts. There's a wealth of D.I.Y. videos to help you get started with the gardening basics here. You might find this discussion on how to create puppy-friendly garden helpful too. Feel free to post whenever you have any questions. We're here to help.

Jane

Found the answer you needed? Mark it as Most Helpful
MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

It's great to have you join us @Storm77.

For a garden bed of that size, I'd encourage you to think about how you'll access the plants. I'd suggest placing either hardwood or treated pine sleepers every meter across the area. That way, you can have rows of plants between them, and access will be a breeze walking on the sleepers.