Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What plant is this and how do I care better?

ArunM
Cultivating a Following

What plant is this and how do I care better?

Please can somebody know what plant this is. It also looks pretty unwell . What sort of care does this need ? 

Complete beginner so thanks for your patience. 

PXL_20231104_073931737.jpg

PXL_20231104_073954517.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: What plant is this and how do I care better

That's a Grevillea @ArunM

Do you happen to recall when these branches started dying back? I had a similar issue with my Grevillea, which was always sickly, so I decided to remove it by cutting it down to the ground. It turns out that was exactly what it wanted as it sprung back with more vigour than I've ever seen before; it looks wonderful now. For now, I'd suggest removing all the dead material.

A lot of issues with Grevilleas start with poor drainage. However, your soil looked quite dry and compacted under the mulch. Let me mention a couple of our gardening experts, @Noelle and @mich1972 to see if they have some thoughts.

Here's a helpful guide: Planting, growing and pruning Grevilleas

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
mich1972
Kind of a Big Deal

Good morning @ArunM  That’s a Grevillea, absolutely beautiful in full flower. Full of Nectar for foraging Bees and Beneficial Insects. The birds love to feed on the nectar. Just cut off the dead twigs and lightly prune after it’s flowered. It’s an Australian Native plant so only feed it with a Native Fertiliser. 😃🪴🐝

ArunM
Cultivating a Following

Thanks @mich1972 . I love to see the birds on it. I will start with a prune and also cut off the deal twigs. 

Is there any other plant native bushy ,colorful  plants which birds like to feed on that you can recommend. We are in Queensland. We would love to add some to our garden. 

ArunM