Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Can you lay pavers on stone instead of sand?

Dezzi
Cultivating a Following

Can you lay pavers on stone instead of sand?

Hello Everyone,

Before I ask my question, which may sound silly, can I just explain that I'm fairly new to Brisbane and come to realise that things are done differently over east due to building codes and the different soil type etc, etc. Hence my question.

I had intentions of straightening a row of pavers (IMG_1.jpg) that was all uneven and wonky and slopes down.  However, upon lifting a few, I found they were all sitting on a bed of stone and not sand (IMG_2.jp2).

So my questions are:

Is this normal? 

Was it done for drainage purposes or something else (and not just laziness)?

Should I re-lay  the pavers on a bed of sand or is it advisable to leave it on the stones?

I should point out, that this area was awash with rain water during the recent storm which entered from the side of the house (the side of the house is at the top of IMG_1).

With every heavy rainfall over the last few years, we've found a whole lot of drainage issues with this house since purchasing it!

The area where the row of pavers (along the wall) are, are all under a patio and generally remains dry if the total rainfall for the day is less than 10mm.  Anything more, and water seems to seep up from the ground.

If you've read this far, thanks for taking the time to read and thank you in advance if you should reply. P-)

IMG_1IMG_1IMG_2IMG_2

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Can you lay pavers on stone instead of sand?

Hi @Dezzi,