Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Deck for an L-shaped house

LJ1970
Finding My Feet

Deck for an L-shaped house

Hi LJ1970 (a super Newbie!)

First up, reading some of the other posts, etc., this forum looks terrific!

I'm wanting to do a DIY deck (about 6m x 9m) for my L-shaped brick veneer house in Canberra.  I have never built a deck before.  I'm wanting to design the deck in CAD before starting.  I have a lot of (really) basic questions, but will start with the ledger.

Building a rectangular deck for an L-shaped house, both bearers and joists will be abutting the house.  Do I put in a ledger for (a) both joists & bearers, or (b) just the joists?  If the latter (b), I'm confused about how to position the posts to support the bearer ends close to the house; presumably they'd need a post right up close to the house, yes?

I was going to affix 90 x 45mm ledger(s) (or is that too small?) to the house using Ramset 100mm Galvanised AnkaScrew Masonry Anchor, with screws every 300mm.

Any help for a newbie would be very much appreciated!

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Deck for an L-shaped house

Hello @LJ1970

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. Thank you so much for joining us and sharing your question about a deck for an L-shaped house.

If you are building a low-level deck, my first suggestion is to have a look at this guide - How to build a low-level deck by @Adam_W. This will give you a general idea of how to plan your deck frame. If you are building a traditional frame with the joist on top of the bearers, it's not necessary to have a ledger for the joists as they will be sitting on a ledger attached to the house. However, in a  single-layered structure, you will only need a ledger in the direction of where the bearers are pointed to.