Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a low-level deck on a concrete slab?

mike1360
Building a Reputation

How to build a low-level deck on a concrete slab?

Hi everyone, 

This is my first time building a deck. I'm planning to demolish the pergola and the bricks to build a low-level deck on a concrete slab. As you can see there's an unusable spa in the middle and filled with soil. I'm planning to use 90 x 45 treated Pine joists sitting on galvanised brackets with about 10mm ground clearance, I'll put a few H4 posts in the middle to support the frame.

Is it workable? would this cause air ventilation and drainage problems?

IMG_6323.JPG

IMG_6326.JPG

  

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: DIY - build a low-level deck on a concrete slab

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @mike1360. It's terrific to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about building a deck.

It is always best to have your deck elevated as high as possible. Unless there is some reason to have only a 10mm gap under your structure, I would advise against it. Having only a 10mm gap would be a risky choice only used on extremely low-level decks where something is governing the maximum height, like a door sill. In this case, I'd recommend having an additional step up to the deck and raising the structure to an appropriate height. Having a gap of 100mm under the timber would be a better solution which will allow airflow around the structure. It looks like you've removed some timberwork from the area, was this due to decay, and how close was that structure placed to the ground?

I'd need to know more specifics on these H4 posts you're planning to place in the middle to support the frame before commenting on their feasibility. I recommend using a calibre of timber that can span the distance across the spa instead of placing support within it.