Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to repaint concrete in backyard?

monika2
Finding My Feet

How to repaint concrete in backyard?

24E17FCA-B763-4671-A4D4-1A3AF637A5CF.jpeg

Hi, i want to repaint the courtyard as you can see the paint had come off. Already did pressure wash. What to do next? This is my first time no hand on experience in this. Please advise.

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to repaint concrete backyard

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @monika2. It's fantastic to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about recoating concrete.

As your paint has begun to peel, it is now considered compromised, and the majority of our concrete paints are ruled out as they don't recommend or warrant their products over compromised coatings. They can either be applied to bare concrete or a coating in good condition. The reason for this is that the old coating will likely continue to peel causing the new coating to fail as well. 

The options are to use a primer designed for compromised coated surfaces, such as the Rust-Oleum 3.78L Concrete and Garage Recoat Primer and their compatible topcoats, or remove the compromised paint off the entire surface, which would be a tedious task at best. Unfortunately, the compatible topcoats for the Recoat primer are limited to a few shades of grey.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!

Thanks for your reply. Can you advise if I clean and put the primer shared by you how long will it stay? We are okay with grey color. What do you reckon?

option 2- paint the same blue color and let it last for few months later on change it to grey.

And both the products suggested are primer? One says primer and paint. Which one to put?

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member