Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to restore outdoor furniture please

rustyicon
Getting Established

How to restore outdoor furniture please

77C5FD37-89F0-465F-A68C-01BCE1586099.jpeg

1BA01490-1A4B-4B26-93C6-3509835E49AF.jpeg

  

7906A245-4789-418C-9DF3-979D0F4E6A79.jpeg

541BD56E-6F22-4758-84E8-1302C31A26E3.jpeg

97391CDC-82D0-4685-98FF-98BBA40C9CBA.jpeg

Hi All, I’m very new to this, our first attempt at restoring outdoor furniture. We have a outdoor table & two bench chairs. Unfortunately they have been through bad weather but all still in good condition. We Want to restore them ourselves rather than having to buy a whole new set. Would love to know where do we start, the process please & what to buy to make it all happen, any feedback would be helpful. Thankyou very much

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to restore outdoor furniture please

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @rustyicon. It's fantastic to have you join us and many thanks for your questions.

Did you want to re-paint the setting or restore it to the original timber?

Do you have an electric sander? If not there are plenty of budget-friendly options. I personally use a Ryobi’s 18V ONE+ Random Orbital Sander and highly recommend it as it is a great option that copes well with large jobs and intricate work. I also own a belt sander and larger random orbital but this unit is by far the most used.

I would suggest starting with an 80 grit pad and knocking off all the larger flaking paint. Don't press too hard as you'll leave scratches in the timber. Once the bulk of the paint is removed you should step up to a 120 grit and start working down to bare timber.