Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to seal marine ply in campervan?

steve2000
Finding My Feet

How to seal marine ply in campervan?

Hi I'm a software engineer that sits in a chair all day, every day, for the last 20+ years, so no expert with tools or related stuff 

Anyhow, I decided to build my own camper van and will be living in this full time in a couple of months while travelling the big lap 

I think my build is ok, using 12mm marine ply and dress pine for the frame, and now need to seal it 

I want it to last for some time. If I can get 2 or 3 years out of it, that would be cool 

My partner is highly allergic to paint, generally wet paint and the odours that come from that,

although we found she can handle water-based paint   

seeking what product to use that needs to be water base or similar to seal up this timber build 

it is expected to get a little bit of rain on it sometimes if doors are opened in rainy weather, and its ability to handle the odd spilt drink/coffee  lol 

not intended as a full outdoor timber project 

seeking the best product to use and any resources on what tools are needed / how to apply - prefer a method that does not require a spray gun (don't have one and wouldn't know how to use it anyhow lol) 

also, the very back timber doors I want to stain a colour - again, I will need to find out the best stain stuff I need / how to apply (12mm marine ply) 

including resources regarding hot to final preparations of the timber before staining / sealing etc 

cheers :smile: Back doors I want to stain and seal (12mm marine ply)Back doors I want to stain and seal (12mm marine ply)camper van build projectcamper van build projectcamper van build projectcamper van build project

JacobZ
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Type of paint/sealant and how to resources for marine ply project build

Hi @steve2000,