Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Advices for easy bathroom makeover

Heidixe
Just Starting Out

Advices for easy bathroom makeover

Hello everyone. This looks like an awesome community and this is my first post. I'm a complete beginner in doing this so please bare with me. 

My partner and I are in the process of purchasing an investment property. This is a 4 bedroom home with 2 bathrooms. The house is old but it's ok. We are hoping to update the bathroom to attract better tenants but we also have a budget around $1000 to 2000. We also have never done anything like this before so the whole process seems scary... We haven't got the exact measurements of the bathrooms but I attached some photos here.

The idea is too keep it simple because we have never done this before. Also, the bathroom doesn't have a window so we are hoping for suggestions to have the bathroom look brighter.

There is 2 plans that we are thinking about:

Plan A (simple?) 

1.Paint the walls so it's not pink

2. Remove the pink shelfs and Install a new vanity unit

3. Put nice tiles and some wall shelves around the bathtub

4. Paint the tub and the washing basin to match colour? 

5. Put a new floor for the shower? And put a nice screen on (don't know how hard this would be)? 

Plan B (much better but it seems too complicated for DIY?) 

1. Remove the bathtub and change it to a shower tub, tile around the tub

2. Remove the shower and replace with a toilet

3. Replace vanity and shelves

4. Repaint the walls

img_20200111_110454.jpg

img_20200111_110500.jpg

img_20200122_122421.jpg

This last photos is a floor plan I sketched from the photos, so the proportions are very vague.

Thanks so much for reading!!

Any suggestions and advices will be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Heidi.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Advices for easy bathroom makeover

Hi @Heidixe,