Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Need advice on apartment laundry reno

raniia
Having an Impact

Need advice on apartment laundry reno

Absolute newbie looking for advice.

My apartment laundry is a decent size but not functional due to lack of storage. 

Naively I thought “How hard can it be to chuck on a bench and some cabinets?” and quickly realised I have no idea where to begin.

Did a quick mock up with the Kaboodle planner below.

Issues/questions I have:

• The washer plumbing and power point are all above bench level - how difficult is this to move so the hose and wires can be hidden?

• How much more complicated will this renovation be in an apartment? (E.g. strata)

• If I wanted a stone look bench top, how do they get cut out for the sink? Do I need workshop space? (We have a double garage space with power in the basement)

• My idea was to hire professionals to do the installation with flat pack cabinetry - who do I need and who do I call first? Plumber? Electrician?

Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!

The space

9A963EC6-C3D2-41E1-869E-01AF1E0FD8E5.jpeg

The plan

E4AD31E1-E847-4D1C-BF0E-DC3122FD243C.jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Need advice on apartment laundry reno

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @raniia. It's fabulous to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about renovating your laundry.

A great place to start would be reading through this helpful guide on How to plan a laundry renovation

If budget isn't a concern, moving the water outlets and powerpoint under the bench will be a relatively simple process for a plumber and electrician. If the walls are concrete, they will have to chase the plumbing and cables through it, requiring the wall to be cut out. It would be a good idea to have access to power above the bench too, for things such as irons.