Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Any suggestions on transforming my backyard?

KevinPlant
Growing in Experience

Any suggestions on transforming my backyard?

Hi, garden experts,

I am planning to transform my little backyard by myself.

Right now, I don't have any idea how to do it. Can someone help give me some inspiration?

• I am not a professional, so I am looking for something easy that can be done by myself.
  • The size is 1.5m X 6m
  • I have some spare natural rocks. Not sure if I can reuse them for something or just dump them.

I appreciate any help you can provide.

IMG_1717.jpg

IMG_1716.jpgIMG_1715.jpg

BradN
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: Any suggest to transform my backyard

Hi @KevinPlant. How exciting to have such a nice, big blank canvas in your garden!

Do you have any ideas about what you would like to see when you step outside and look at that area? Would you like native plants as a theme, or maybe a low-maintenance succulent garden? You could put in some flowering feature shrubs. Do you need something to screen out the neighbours? You could maybe even grow some food in part of that area as well. There are a lot of options!

Could you give us a bit more information so that Workshop members can provide suitable suggestions?

What area or what sort of climate do you live in? What direction does that garden bed face, and how much direct sun does it get each day? Does the fence get very hot in the sun?

I'm sure that people will have some ideas for those rocks too. One idea that springs to mind is building a little lizard hotel for blue-tongues and other native lizards. Lizards can help you in the garden by eating snails, insects and grubs.