Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to lay synthetic turf on real grass?

Irenicus
Finding My Feet

How to lay synthetic turf on real grass?

Hi, hope you all are well and safe.

I would like to install synthetic turf on the existing grass but not sure it is feasible to put it directly over the grass ? I looked through the posts regarding the installation of synthetic turf but cannot find the answer. Do I require to remove the grass first before put the installation ? My plan is to mow or trim the grass first, then apply the landscape paver sand to level the area (my area is 8m x 4.7m). I am not going to hire the large machine to flatten the area because i am just a newbie in DIY, finally will put the synthetic turf after level the area.

May I have your advice please,

thanks in advance 

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Lay Synthetic turf on real grass

Hello @Irenicus

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. Thank you so much for joining us and sharing your question about laying synthetic turf on real grass.

Your idea of mowing the grass is exactly what I would recommend. Put your mower on the lowest cut setting and remove as much of the grass as possible. I suggest using the GRUNT 2m x 20m Black 100um Builder's Film, Handy Roll to cover the area. Use the Whites Wire Mesh Fence Anchors - 20 Pack to keep the Builders Film in place.

Once you've laid down the plastic you can now put the Brunnings 20kg Landscape Paver Sand. I suggest using a Saxon Top Soil Spreader to spread the sand evenly. It sounds like a great project, any updates you can provide while laying it down would be much appreciated.

Here is a handy step-by-step guide: How to lay synthetic turf

If you need more advice or information, please let us know.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!