Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Tall man raised garden bed for vegetables

mdstorrs
Building a Reputation

Tall man raised garden bed for vegetables

I just finished my "tall man" vege garden box and we will start to plant this weekend. All timber, tools and accessories were bought from either the Keperra or Brendale stores.  It turned out better than I hoped considering I have never worked with large pieces of Timber before only ever small wooden projects. Thanks Bunnings!

IMG_20190112_182216.jpg

IMG_20190113_155529.jpg

Re: Tall man raised garden bed for vegetables

Hi @bluemoonskye  and @Jason 

The team of boffins at my work thought hard and long over this. It was hard getting enough material no matter what I used to fill the bottom and only leave 30cm at the top.

The final result was to build a fake bottom and put some drainage grids in. I covered the grids with weed matting so the didn't let too much else through. The weed matting also goes up the walls of the garden. 

It seems to work. The garden drains at a good rate and the soil with plenty of compost seems to hold the moisture well. I feel we have it right.IMG_20190112_163241.jpgIMG_20190112_181847.jpg

mdstorrs
Building a Reputation

Hi @Jessa 

I didn't sand back and stain. It looks pretty good as is.  It's god a great colour and texture for the backyard,

mdstorrs
Building a Reputation

It's been 15 months now, so I thought I would upload a few photos from my success.  I won't horrify you with the failures.

13kg of Sweet Potatoes in our first season. Only 5kg in the second because of the drought.

IMG_20190721_121046.jpg

Plenty of Beautiful Pakchoy. We could barely keep up.

Plenty of very healthy pak choy. more than we could cope with.Plenty of very healthy pak choy. more than we could cope with.

Look at this specimen. The first season of corn was amazing. Perfect weather. The drought made it hard for the second.