Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Tall man raised garden bed for vegetables

mdstorrs
Building a Reputation

Tall man raised garden bed for vegetables

I just finished my "tall man" vege garden box and we will start to plant this weekend. All timber, tools and accessories were bought from either the Keperra or Brendale stores.  It turned out better than I hoped considering I have never worked with large pieces of Timber before only ever small wooden projects. Thanks Bunnings!

IMG_20190112_182216.jpg

IMG_20190113_155529.jpg

Rustikman
Cultivating a Following

Re: Tall man raised garden bed for vegetables

Thanks @mdstorrs

We are doing one garden bed using a similar build to your main bed.  It wont be moved again probably.  Does yours drain onto the ground or do you have a drainage tray under the false base

Cheers

mdstorrs
Building a Reputation

Hi @Rustikman

Straight onto the ground. We do have good drainage in the back yard, but even so, I have never seen water come out the bottom and just sit around.

I don't think I push enough water through the garden to cause that problem. Maybe I need to have a closer look next time.

The legs of the box are sitting up on pavers so they are not sitting directly on the wet ground, if that helps.

Regards

Michael

Rustikman
Cultivating a Following

Hi Michael 

I am 67 and my son (Rustikman) Is building this for me. I logged him in so he could see what others are doing. We found some jarrah  at auction and will just build a bed 1800x900 with around 400cm for actual garden height and bed at 800cm so that I don't need to bend. Will be using your design so thanks so much. It will certainly save on fill. Will post when we get started.  Then if that works. The garden's my oyster!!

Dougal_McBear
Getting Established

Wow @mdstorrs that's stunning. Looks like nice timber.