Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to diy a drink dispenser?

rashunni
Getting Established

How to diy a drink dispenser?

Hello creative people, I am a home baker and would like to make a working beer barrel cake for a friend's birthday. I want to know as to how do you'll think the tap is attached to the cake..is it a snap tap on a drink bottle? I want the drink to actually dispense from the cake....any ideas/thoughts would be appreciated. I have attached the pictures for reference. 

images (4).jpeg

images (5).jpeg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to diy a drink dispenser

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @rashunni. It's fantastic that you've joined us and many thanks for your question.

A couple of thoughts I have are that the tap and internal vessel to hold the liquid need to be BPA free and that you'll need to insert them after you cook the cake/s. Since you are a home baker, no doubt you'll have some brilliant ideas on how to bake the cake/s and then cut out a recess to house the vessel.

I'd suggest you consider installing a Stefani Plastic Replacement Tap into the sidewall of a Montgomery 6 Piece Food Storage Set With White Lid. The food storage kit has six different sized containers and hopefully at least one will suit the size cake you wish to make. You'll just need to drill a hole to accept the tap and then screw down the nut onto the included o-rings.

Perhaps you could bake several standard circular cakes and stack them on top of each other. Cut out the middle and a slot at the front and then slide the stacked cake down over the vessel full of drink and the tap. Once the cake is in position, use the cutout pieces to patch the slot at the front. You'll then be free to ice over the cake and add your finishing touches.

I can't wait to see you finished drink dispensing cake in action.

Please let me know if you have questions.

Mitchell