Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Help with decking

Pav
Finding My Feet

Help with decking

Hi, 

I am after help to build a deck 814cm in length x 260cm wide. I am wanting to put it long length of house wall in backyard. 

I have never done a deck before. I have attached some pics of area where I want to put up a deck. I would appreciate some help with the 

- where & how do you attach ledgers

- there is a concrete raised-area near the door; i think a couple of posts may have to sit on the concrete; how do i secure the posts on concrete

- how deep do i need to need the holes in soil for the footings

- looking at the pictures are there any specific things that i should keep in mind when taking measurements 

i probably sound and am being dense here but would appreciate help here to kick start taking measurements & clearing the doubts that I have. Thanks a lot20200707_151543.jpg20200707_151549.jpg

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Help with decking

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Pav. We're really pleased to have you join us and trust you'll get loads of helpful advice and inspiration for this project and many others to come from our wonderful members. 

Have you had a search for "Low level deck" here on Workshop? I'm sure you'll find similar projects to yours that you can learn from. It's a very popular topic, particularly at the moment. 

Let me also tag a few of our resident decking experts here in the community who might like to kick off the discussion for you - @Adam_W, @Brad and @ProjectPete.

Please let me know if you ever need a hand getting the most from the Workshop site, or ever have any feedback about how we could improve Workshop for you. 

Thanks,

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Pav
Finding My Feet

Thanks Jason. I will look up the low level deck posts. Hope to get some help from the experts. 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member