Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a cubby house base?

Takatala
Finding My Feet

How to build a cubby house base?

cubby.png

Hi, we’ve purchased a 2 level cubby house from kidzshack - fun shack with mud kitchen. Basically it’s a raised cubby house with a little kitchen underneath. We are installing in what is currently a grassed area of our backyard but know it needs to be on pavers in order to prevent rot. 

I am a complete newbie and have no idea how to do this. Do I cut away the grass and just place pavers? Do I need to get paving sand or anything down? How do I ensure it’s even? 

I have bought large rubber mats for inside the bottom kitchen and for under the ladder/slide. 

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to build a cubby house base?

Hello @Takatala

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. Thank you for joining us and sharing your question about how to build a cubby house base.

Your idea is spot on. You'll need to cut the grass off and place weed mat before putting the pavers on top. This will prevent grass from growing in between the pavers. This would be the simplest way to set up a base for the cubby house. However, if you wish to have a sand base for the pavers, you'll need to make a timber frame based on the size of the pavers. Place the sand inside your frame and spread it out using a rake, you then level it by using a compactor. Please make sure that it has a slope in it, so that water will not sit in the middle of the area should it rain. 

Once you've compacted the area, you can then lay the pavers on top of the sand. The advantage of having a sand base is that you'll be able to create a flat-level surface. This is based on the idea that you will be covering the entire bottom area of the cubby house. It sounds like a great project. Any updates you can provide while building it would be much appreciated.

Here are some step-by-step guides: