Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a sun lounger?

awmallery
Finding My Feet

How to build a sun lounger?

Hi There

Im looking to build a lounger/bench like this video.

https://www.stuff.co.nz/life-style/homed/how-to/300244423/make-a-diy-sun-lounger 

But without the seperate back piece (all one length flat bench). My novice brain cant work out what I’ll need so I can walk into bunnings with a list and say cut me this.

I have never built anything not kit set before but confident I could do this once I have the right pieces therefore looking for some help to get my list of wood and measurements to take in.

thanks

KatieC
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: Help! Measure twice cut once - lounger

Hi @awmallery 

Welcome to the community! We are thrilled that you have asked the community this great question. 

Let me tag @Stuardo @JDE and @r23on to see if they have tips with measurements and woodworking. Our resident D.I.Y. pro @EricL will be more than happy to help you out once he comes online. 

Looking forward to seeing photos of your journey and the final product. 

Katie

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
r23on
Amassing an Audience

The answer is always the same.

You have chosen to do a project and you will be asked the same question do you have a drawing / plan  ie length, width and height. from there you can then select the timber sizes you want. The back rest is the same process and as you progress making the back rest is a bit more work how will i hinge the back rest and the back rest support take a bit of time, BUT you need to do some home work first drawing of each stage brake it down. The internet is full of suggestions and the lounge you are looking at is a common design 

The next question you will be asked do you have tooling to do the project? 

here is a web site the may give you an idea where to go