Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to restore and protect timber front gate?

Coco_M
Cultivating a Following

How to restore and protect timber front gate?

82366603-8989-42D1-BE18-3E3137E7BCD5.jpeg

CAAC4014-EA65-430D-9663-E5D9EDE069B8.jpeg

Hi all,

I am new to home maintenance. How can I restore and protect this gate? 
Specifically, please recommend Products that require the least skills possible and can be applied directly without sanding. 

Many thanks

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to restore and protect front gate

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Coco_M. It's sensational to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about restoring a timber gate.

Your gate looks in reasonably good shape and likely only needs a coat of Merbau-tinted decking oil. The only area that could possibly be addressed is the bottom length of timber, which has greyed off slightly. It doesn't need sanding but could be improved by scrubbing it down with timber prep. However, you could recoat with oil and not worry about it.

Applying a yearly oil coat will protect the timber and bring out its beautiful natural colours.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Coco_M
Cultivating a Following

Re: How to restore and protect front gate

Fantastic! Thank you

Marty_greenshed
Having an Impact

Re: How to restore and protect timber front gate?

Integrain brand is the premium brand that lasts a bit longer then the others.. about 18 to 24 mths, feast Watson's is the mid range lasting between 12-18 months and Cabot's is generally about 12 months before needing to be redone.  Obviously pending correct prep and conditions etc

Coco_M
Cultivating a Following

Thank you, that’s a good tip

Coco_M
Cultivating a Following

Hi @MitchellMc 

I finally found a cooler day to tackle the gate.