Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What materials for low-level deck over rainwater drain?

rpankaj39
Getting Established

What materials for low-level deck over rainwater drain?

Hello guys,

I am a newbie, planning to build a low-level deck on top of the rainwater pipes running(underground with one drain on the top). The size of the deck will be 2.8m * 6m approx. I don't want to dig and install the footing. I need some help with the foot and material.

Q1- Can I use Pedestal or tuff block for the footing? I am planning to prepare the floor using the builder's membrane and gravel.

Q2 – Can I use 90 x 45mm MGP10 H2F Termite Treated Blue Pine Timber Framing for Bearers and  Treated Pine Outdoor Timber Framing 90 x 45mm for joits? There are limited options in the MGP10 frame in my location.

Q3 – What size of screws shall I use?

Q4-  List of tools?

@MitchellMc  I read your blog. It helped me to understand the Flooring structure. Thank you for that. :smile:

Thanks

Pan

rpankaj39
Getting Established

Re: What materials for low-level deck over rainwater drain?

Hi @EricL 

Thank you for your response

I am a bit confused with the image. So total deck height will be tuffblock+45(joist) +45(Bearer) +19mm(Merbau) is that correct?

joist and beares on its 90mm face.

Thanks

Pankaj

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: What materials for low-level deck over rainwater drain?

Hi @rpankaj39