Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

old Millard caravan

beckyboo
Growing in Experience

old Millard caravan

Hi, I'm very new to DIY. This will be my first ever project. Last week I bought an old Millard caravan for 500 dollars. I'm unsure of the year and model but was told probably from the 60's. The chassis number is M1672 if this helps someone identify it I'd be very grateful.

I have a few questions I'm hoping someone could help me with. I'll put some photos up when the sun comes up. Most of the thing's that needed to be stripped out have been removed before I bought it. There is one upper cupboard that needs removing. I tried to do this myself through I discovered the electrical saw and I don't quite see eye to eye. I am paying someone to come help me remove the cupboard and teach me how to use the saw safely. The reason I have to remove the cupboard is because we have discovered the wooden structure behind it needs replacing. I need to know if it's right that I use a soft wood for the timber structural framework because this is what I have been advised?

Also when I'm insulting how do I place it with the wiring? How much of a gap needs to be left? I've had the wiring checked and it is in good order but I didn't think to ask about the insulation.

The floor is structurally safe but needs a floor covering. I'm thinking about getting the black and white check vinyl floor tiles from Bunnings. Just wondering if this is good for caravan floors?

My decor style is going to be 1950's diner. I have a wishlist on Bunnings web site. It was 989 dollars but I've got it down to 812 dollars my problem is I'm only going to have about 700 dollars to spend after I get the five Windows fixed. All five need new glass I'm getting a quote tomorrow so I'll know exactly how much I have to spend.