Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

OIl-based or water-based paint for a wooden window sill?

Klutz
Finding My Feet

OIl-based or water-based paint for a wooden window sill?

Paint.pngHello,

Would anyone be able to tell me what paint (oil-based or water-based) I need for a wooden window sill?

How much paint do I need for ~ 1.4m x ~.35mm?

What primer would I need?

Can i use the same paint for skirting boards and architraves?

Can I use the same paint for metal windows?

I am totally new to DYI and I will really appreciate any help! :smile:

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: OIl-based or water-based paint for a wooden window sill?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Klutz. It's great to have you join us and many thanks for your questions.

I would advise using a water-based enamel product to coat your window sill, skirting boards and architraves. Water-based enamel products have advanced substantially over the last 10 years and now exhibit the same robust qualities as oil-based alternatives yet don't yellow and are easier to clean up.

For the timber window sill, I would suggest using Dulux 1 Step Prep prior to applying your topcoat of Aquanamel

One litre of paint will cover eight square meters with two coats. Your window sill will only require a small amount of paint.

Aquanamel is perfect for use on skirting boards and architraves as it is hardwearing. If the skirting boards and architraves have a glossy finish then I would advise sanding the gloss finish off and applying the Dulux 1 Step Prep before your final topcoat. Here's a helpful step-by-step video on How to paint trims which I trust you'll find useful.