Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Project: Galvanised Pipe Desk

topper
Building a Reputation

Project: Galvanised Pipe Desk

G'day All,

To start off with, I am a complete Novice with this kind of stuff, so I am open to (hopefully friendly) feedback.

For this, I have taken inspiration from @ogosh (https://www.workshop.com.au/t5/Living-and-Bedroom/Home-office-custom-furniture-build/td-p/20456)

One difference is, I added an extra horizontal bar near the top of the back. This will be used to hide/tidy cables some how.

Notes (assumptions) before:

• Size of the bench tops I've seen in Bunnings (approx 60cm x 180cm) [or 2.4m but I can cut down]
  • Size of frame will be ~ 42cm x 170cm, I hope this means the flanges can be screwed on without  going over the edge of the bench.

The Inspiration:

(@ogosh)

topper_1-1583721088662.png

My design:

(I had to do it in https://draw.io for my brain to wrap around it and how many pieces etc)

(Note: the extra bars)

Untitled Diagram.jpg

The Shopping List:

(for the frame only)

(I forgot to add the screw ends)

topper_0-1583720837271.png

The Size:

This should make it approximately:

Height: 10cm + 50cm + 10cm = 70cm + 2 T joins (~74cm) [Plus desktop ~4cm thick)

Width: 20cm + 20cm = 40cm + 1 T joins (~42cm)

Length: 40cm + 40cm + 40cm + 40cm = 160cm + 5 T joins (~170cm)

Growth?:

I'm thinking of adding a shelf on to the bench top, I would be able to connect a top and bottom (around the desk) flange and add a 10cm pipe, maybe a right angle and attach wood to that, some how.....

Requests/Questions:

Would be great to hear of some ideas/improvements.

Would 20mm be strong enough for computer use?

• This is based on the sizes of 20mm thick. I couldn't find all of the pieces available for 25mm thick (ie 100mm or flange)

ogosh
Having an Impact

Re: Project: Galvanised Pipe Desk