Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

To replace ceilings or paint?

lharmer
Finding My Feet

To replace ceilings or paint?

Hello, I'm Leah, I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's projects, getting some advice, as I've little to no experience when it comes to renovating, and if I can do it myself, I'm willing to give it a go. So far I've been taking the tiles and carpet up in my house, as I haven't decided on flooring as yet. And a friend suggested to paint while I had no flooring. So my first question to this site is some of the rooms in my house have paint peeling of the ceilings, some of them have a light mould as well. Would it be better/easier to replace or repaint them, any advice is greatly appreciated. 

IMG_20191230_162015.jpg

 this one is in the laundry

IMG_20191230_160709.jpg

 this one is one of my bedrooms

redracer01
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: To replace or paint

Seems like condensation problems. Is rain water entering the roof and settling in that corner of your ceiling? It is something you will have to investigate. If it seems that the ceiling is not soft or spongy ( you may tap it with a broom stick ) then yes you can re-paint it. If the ceiling caves in then you have no choice but to repair your ceiling, but while your at it trace the leak. If all is well, I suggest a 3 in one paint product ( primer, sealer, binder, mold inhibitor ) usually says for bathrooms or kitchens. Follow the instructions at the back of the can. Prep the ceiling very well, make sure to use drop sheets and proper protective equipment. Isolate the room by placing a drop sheet at the entrance of the room so that the dust does not travel to the rest of the house. Hope this helps and if you have more questions just drop a line here at workshop.