Workshop
Ask a question

What's the best option for making outdoor bench?

joeharis
Finding My Feet

What's the best option for making outdoor bench?

Hi im newbie here, thank you for letting me join this awesome group.

I'm thinking to build outdoor bench using mgp10 untreated pine and metal pipe legs.

Screenshot_20240424-002847_Pinterest.jpg

Screenshot_20240424-002847_Pinterest.jpg

It's mainly for under alfresco. Will that be OK if I use them with lots of outdoor oil protection instead of h3 cca treated pine. I'm concern about h3 hazard. I don't really want to paint then as I want to keep natural look. 

Noyade
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: What's the best option for making outdoor bench?

G'day Joe @joeharis 

Welcome - and an interesting design above. Are your thoughts to replicate the above identically - or just looking for something similar?

Cheers!

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @joeharis. It's marvelous to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about creating a bench.

As you've pointed out, CCA-treated timber is not suitable for creating benches and is only to be used for landscaping purposes. Untreated Pine would be suitable, but you'd need to ensure the oil is maintained regularly. As soon as it dries out (potentially after 12 months), the timber will start to absorb water, and the decay process will set in. The other option is to use a hard coating, such as an exterior varnish. This will seal the timber entirely and stop moisture penetration.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Afternoon @joeharis 

That would be a nice looking bench, I recently built a bench with H3 timber and timber decking pieces on wheels. It lives under my deck roof so its kind of out of the weather.