Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Tasmanian Oak bathroom vanity

Banyoabode
Building a Reputation

Tasmanian Oak bathroom vanity

IMG_4395.JPEG

I am a self-taught DIYer just giving it ago, and I hope you enjoyed this project as much as I did :smile:

We are finally renovating our bathroom, and when designing this space, a floating timber vanity was on the wish list, but the price was not!

So I decided to take on the challenge to build one myself, so I headed to bunnings to pick up my supplies. 

Using the Tassie Oak panel 1200 x 600 x 19 mm, I mitred the edges and glued them together using corner clamps. 

For support: I added timber on the back (helped with mounting to the wall), brackets underneath the bench top and used timber screws to secure the bottom. 

Now time to tackle the drawer. I picked up some soft closing drawer runners to get the measurements right before starting this step. 

I measured twice, cut once, and using my table saw, I cut grooves 7mm thick to slide the drawer base in (7mm plywood). Using pocket holes, I assembled the drawer.

I cut the timber drawer front to size and added a bevel edge for the handle. 

I sanded everything, patched imperfections with homemade wood filler (sawdust and wood glue), and sealed with Monocel exterior clear varnish. 

What do you think?

IMG_4393.JPEGIMG_3957.JPEGIMG_4093.JPEGIMG_4236.JPEG

Kalinda5
Finding My Feet

Re: Tasmanian Oak bathroom vanity

Love the vanity you made. We just purchased the same timber from Bunnings. What colour stain did you use on this? Or was it just the clear Monocel varnish that bought out all the grain this colour?

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @Kalinda5 

Welcome to the Bunnings workshop community. It's fabulous to have you join us.