Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to seal and waterproof shed?

islandermandie
Finding My Feet

How to seal and waterproof shed?

Hi! I am a property manager and have a washroom on site that is pretty old. We expanded it and added some storage areas. My issue is that when it rains the water comes in from underneath the shed and damages the wood doors to storage area. How would I go about extending the shed to the ground and waterproofing it. Here are some pics to better illustrate what I’m talking about. Thank you so much for any advice!  

6B2693FF-7E61-4BB8-9B3E-7A173CBD6B69.jpeg

849E7FFE-CD1F-4166-9AE3-2A1CF64E8917.jpeg

6F942B2F-BDEF-4565-A674-38F889AAEC87.jpeg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to seal and waterproof shed?

Hello @islandermandie

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's fantastic to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about sealing your shed.

Looking at the pictures that you posted it seems that water is running under your shed wall. Have you tried to put any barrier or sealer to prevent the water from coming in? One of the problems I see happening is that if sufficient rain were to pour down the interior wall would get wet and start to rot. Although a silicone sealer would stop the water from flowing in, it will not protect the wall from pooling water.