Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Push Sticks, solid wood, MDF or Plywood???

Jack250
Finding My Feet

Push Sticks, solid wood, MDF or Plywood???

Hi, I’m new to woodworking and have seen on-line videos of people making ‘push sticks’ from differing materials. My question is are there any guidelines/advice on selecting what material to use for certain styles/types of push stick? Regards Jack

Brad
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Push Sticks, solid wood, MDF or Plywood???

Mine are plastic...
Both of mine are notched so there is push and some downforce.
I would rate the materials as Plastic first, hardwood, softwood, plywood, MDF and finally chipboard.
Avoid metal in them.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @Jack250,

Welcome to Workshop. Great to have you join us. I trust that you'll get loads of helpful information, advice and inspiration for all your woodworking projects from our amazing members. We have plenty of keen woodworkers so you'll fit right in! 

I trust Brad's response is very helpful. Feel free to post whenever you need a hand with anything. 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Super_D
Becoming a Leader

I would stick with Ply or Plastic. It is a safety item so your hands stay away for the blades. I would never use MDF or Chip Board. as they could give way under pressure, or crack. They might work but I dont think its worth the risk..

That’s great, thank you for your reply. I’m watching some YouTube videos on how to make them!........

Hi, that’s great thank you for your quick reply........

TedBear
Kind of a Big Deal