Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Bottle brush stump size

phrobat2
Just Starting Out

Bottle brush stump size

I have a large bottlebrush in my yard. Recently got a new fence not realising the trees stump was pushing against the old fence. Fencers cut shaping on fence around tree base and large branches at top. I didn't realise they were doing this. I don't think the property owners will like what's been done. So my question is can I cut a slice down the stump to make it narrower without killing it? I cannot afford to have the tree taken out. It is encroaching on neighbours property by about 2cm. I can take off top branches and get new paling but its the bottom im concerned about

20201204_173105.jpg

Prawns
Becoming a Leader

Re: bottle brush stump size

Im no expert but i think if you slice part of the trunk off vertically to allow a gap - the trunk would simply regrow and push the boards back off from underneath? (and potentially weaken the tree to the point it might fall over next bad storm, or weaken it so it sways in storms affecting the fence) If that were my tree id be pulling some panels off to allow clearance, cutting the tree and stump down to below ground level using a chainsaw and then drill the stump and inject some roundup occasionally until your sure that tree wont come back. Cut the wood into manageable chunks and store somewhere for 12months - then you can have a few great firepit nights perhaps once the wood has dried?

Bunnings have a product for killing stumps

https://www.bunnings.com.au/yates-250ml-tree-and-blackberry-weed-killer-concentrate_p3010221?gclid=C...

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @phrobat2. It's fantastic to have you join us and many thanks for your question.