Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How do I rescue our buffalo lawn?

Possum1304
Growing in Experience

How do I rescue our buffalo lawn?

IMG_5057.jpegIMG_5055.jpegIMG_5054.jpeg

Hi all, I’m new to all of this and read through all the info about lawn problems.  I live in Qld, the Sunny coast, and my lawn looks great, lush and green.

However, I’m now spending some time in Melbourne where we laid a new buffalo lawn last March.  It wasn’t long that weeds started to pop up.  We removed them by hand and fertilised the new lawn as per instructions. Fertilised again last August but weeds kept coming back.

After mowing we went away for three weeks in September and came back to a ‘lawn’ looking like this!

We’ve had unseasonably cold and wet weather which probably hasn’t helped either.

There are only a few broad leaf weeds which we have removed by hand, but the rest are mainly grassy looking ones, don’t think it’s bindii or nut grass.  We’ ve pulled out a few and they come out quite easily. Roots and all, no runners.

We’d love to hear what kind they are and most importantly how to get rid of them.

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How do I rescue our buffalo lawn

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Possum1304. It's brilliant to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about lawn care.

These "weeds" enjoy your fertiliser as much as your lawn, so it's important to not only feed but apply a weed killer, too. These are a variety of Winter grasses. Here's a helpful article: How to get rid and control Winter grass. It's best to spray the lawn in autumn with Munns Professional 2.4L Winter Grass Killer Weed Control, as it's unable to kill mature Winter grass as you have here.