Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to cover sandbags with concrete for use as a flood deterrent?

KatQld
Getting Established

How to cover sandbags with concrete for use as a flood deterrent?

We have an issue with water from the neighbours coming on to our property. I have never used cement / concrete before but we want to make a low flood barrier as we can't really dig a drain right now.

We are considering building a besser block wall / fence but wondered if covering sandbags with concrete would work as an effective less permanent solution whilst we decide what to do?

I would place the coated bags on plastic and was thinking like a light/medium coating almost like dipping the bag in the concrete to cover all the surfaces and or covering the bag in a thinnish layer of concrete.

Was just wondering if that would work better than just sandbags to protect the hessian bag from disintegrating. Or would it just crack and not really work at all? Or is there some kind of special concrete I should use instead?

Not sure if it's better to coat each bag separately or arrange the sandbags in the wall formation first then coat them. Would really only need to be two rows high of bags tops and just one row high in some places.

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to cover sandbags with concrete for use as a flood deterrent

Hello @KatQld 

This sounds like a serious flooding issue, before I make any recommendations would it be possible for you to post a few photos of the area in question? Between the sandbag and the Besser block the Besser block would last longer and if you need that barrier for a set period of time, I advise using the Besser block.

But before I get carried away, we really need to see what the situation is. We can then make recommendations that will work for you and your neighbour.

If you need a hand posting the photos, please let me know.

Eric