Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

New home lawn on clay soil

vegie82
Building a Reputation

New home lawn on clay soil

Hello,

About to set about laying down some turf after a new home build, and thought I'd ask for some opinions.

It's a clay soil, so I plan on spraying some weed killer around, letting that settle for a week or so, then using a rotary hoe, then putting about 20mm of premium top soil down before laying the turf. Would you agree?

As you can see in the image, there's quite a fall in this part of the yard, from right to left, do you think it would be a worthwhile investment running and Agi parallel to the fence about 500mm away, to avoid a soggy mess in this part of the lawn next winter?

Any other pointers please don't hesitate to say as its my first time doing this and I'm quite the novice.

Cheers. Craig.

20210723_143457 (1).jpg

20210723_143552.jpg

pstq
Having an Impact

Re: New home lawn

What's on the other side of the fence? Wouldn't the water just keep running under and down the hill?

I think it would be best to avoid building the ground level up higher than the bottom of the fence, so it doesn't rot. Same for the damp course of the house.

I can't remember how much topsoil I put under ours, but it was way less than 20cm. Check the turf supplier's website for what they recommend.

vegie82
Building a Reputation

There's another house on the otherside of the fence, so I'm aware of not allowing water from my land flow into theirs.

Only looking to do 20mm (2cm) of Topsoil so it won't effect the integrity of the fence and it won't be up to the wood.

Cheers.

pstq
Having an Impact

I read it as 20cm!

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: New home lawn on clay soil

Hi @vegie82,