Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Floor repair or replace?

muna
Getting Established

Floor repair or replace?

image.jpg

image.jpg

 hi all. This is my first time trying to renovate the kitchen it’s there any chance of  or tips oh how I can repair this floor?

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: floor repair or replace

Hello @muna 

Thank you for sharing your question about your proposed flooring renovation project. 

Can you please tell us, is your flooring real timber or is it clip on laminate flooring with a timber veneer? Looking at the photos you posted it looks like real timber. If it is, I suggest sanding it down and re-sealing the surface for a fresh new finish. 

However, if it is laminate flooring, it will need to be replaced as there is no repair method for damaged or worn-out laminated surfaces.

Here is a link to our best advice: How do you rejuvenate timber floors?

Here are some handy step-by-step guides:

If you have any other questions we can help with, please let us know.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
muna
Getting Established

Thank you for your reply it’s a real timber floor. 

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hi @muna 

Thank you for that extra information about your flooring. If other parts of your flooring are showing the same type of wear and tear, I suggest sanding your floor and applying a new seal. 

Although a patch repair is not impossible it will be extremely difficult to match your current flooring finish. The patch repair on your flooring will then become very noticeable and you'll get uneven wear as time passes.   

If you have any other questions we can help with, please let us know.

Eric

muna
Getting Established