Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to create more space in small kitchen reno?

Giselle
Finding My Feet

How to create more space in small kitchen reno?

Hi everyone, I'm new to Bunning and just read some posts recently regarding house reno and am glad that most of them have had their great advice from Bunning experts and communities. I'm planning to reno my kitchen as below pics, about 2.5x4m (approximately), currently, it is very small and difficult to manage or do my cooking. Are there any ideas on how could I improve this to be more spacious? And I also want to change the flooring, benchtop, splashback, cooktop and cabinets, etc... to bring a new look to this kitchen. I'd love to add an island if the space allows getting more spots for preparing food and open space and get air from the dining/living to the kitchen if possible.

Appreciate all advices/ideas contributed. 

Thank you, Giselle.280370266_765070154506031_8366233131514086630_n.jpg283762334_586448319481149_2669184216201371280_n.jpg283971507_410427264280908_8190912663974211073_n (1).jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to create more space in small kitchen reno?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Giselle. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for the question about renovating your kitchen.

It looks like you could quite easily open up the space by removing that shelved wall (if it's not weight-bearing) and encroaching on the dining area slightly with the island. Check out this helpful guide on How to plan a kitchen renovation.

If you're lucky, your cabinetry carcasses might be able to have new doors used on them to update the look. However, that will only work if they suit available sizes. You could look at moving the stove and oven to the island, which would give you more room to maneuver.