Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How do I add a lock to sliding doors?

NikiT
Just Starting Out

How do I add a lock to sliding doors?

Hi experts, I’m looking for a few opinions before I install locks to my sliding doors. What tools do I need from scratch, the steps, and whether I can actually do it myself? I’m super new to these, don’t even own a driller, and only have screwdrivers (haha)

Otherwise, how much would you think it’ll cost to get someone to install? 

AC84A73D-0905-4A0A-B084-CC934BE92A68.png

EEFD5AE6-29A5-4F24-A246-A0E6590CEBE4.jpeg

 

54D767F3-4C16-4366-BD51-4D3637C02D0A.jpeg

176AC0F8-9D15-4CE2-B8FE-8C674CE77E3E.jpeg

  

robchin
Becoming a Leader

Re: Opinions? How do I put a lock to sliding doors?

Hi @NikiT 

I had a similar issue with my sliding doors - I am not a real expert in this area but I did want to add some security to my sliding doors, in particular for when I went away overnight. I used some patio bolts. Very easy to put in and can be locked if required - though they work without locking. It was much simpler than having to put in more complicated sliding door handles and locks. Might not be what you need but it worked for me. 

I bought these more expensive ones which allowed me to get the keys 'matched' with my other external doors. https://www.bunnings.com.au/lockwood-black-patio-door-bolt_p4220868 

NikiT
Just Starting Out

Re: Opinions? How do I put a lock to sliding doors?

Thanks for your opinion Rob! I was wondering it looks like I’d have to drill to the floor, from that bolt link you provided.. is that what you did? I have that steel at the bottom of my sliding door, so I don’t really know if I need to drill through that ? Or? Kinda scared to damage the steel / floor.

KatieC
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: How do I add a lock to sliding doors?

Hi @NikiT 

I see @robchin gave some great advice!