Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to prepare before your first DIY Wood project?

JohnC5
Growing in Experience

How to prepare before your first DIY Wood project?

Hello, 

I am very new to woodworking or carpentry, thinking of doing few DIY projects, wondering if there are any online courses from bunnings or any other course which would help a beginner? 

Thanks

John

StevieB
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: How to prepare before your first DIY Wood project

Thanks for reaching out to the community with your question @JohnC5.

It can feel overwhelming giving something new a go but you've come to the right place. We have loads of incredible woodworkers in the community who would be happy to give you pointers along the way.

We've also got plenty of step-by-step project guides on Workshop, and video tutorials shared by the Bunnings team, so there are easy ways to get started on a project.

What are you planning on making for your first wood projects? I'd be happy to help find a guide of interest.

You may also like to start by checking that you have the right tools for the job with these guides: Essential hand tools for D.I.Y. beginners and Essential power tools for D.I.Y. beginners and beyond.

Stevie

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to prepare before your first DIY Wood project?

Hi @JohnC5,

Great to see you are passionate about getting into woodworking. We have loads of experienced members who I'm sure would be happy to share their knowledge with you, including @woodalwaysworks@JDE@LePallet@Yorky88@r23on@Brad and @Poppop.

Unfortunately due to restrictions Bunnings is currently unable to run in-store classes for you to get hands-on the tools. We are certainly looking forward to providing this service again as soon as possible.