Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to prepare for floating floor?

mich1972
Kind of a Big Deal

How to prepare for floating floor?

Good afternoon everyone. Could I please get your expertise with floating floors. 

House 1994

Living Room Refresh 

Ceiling and walls painted. Now it’s time to install those laminate timber floors. 

I have pulled out the old crappy carpet, underlay and batons with that special tool to pull out the nails. 
As carefully as I could pull them out, chunks of the concrete slab came out too. 
Do I need to fill in all the gouges ? Because the concrete slab looks like it has a bluish colour waterproof coating I think. I have never done this before and again I’m going to step out of my comfort zone and have a go at laying flooring myself. 
Please , your advice will be truly appreciated. Also, are there any posts on here about floating floors 😃😃😃

IMG_1598.png

IMG_1597.jpeg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to prepare for floating floor

Hi @mich1972 

You've done very well with the carpet removal. If you wish to patch the damage on the floor, I suggest using Parfix 1kg Ready To Use Multipurpose Filler. Your objective is to have it as close to level as possible so that you'll have to do very little sanding. It's better to patch it rather than having to discover that the holes have affected your floorings level. 

The next thing to take into consideration is your skirting board. Floating floor when installed needs to be at least 10mm away from the wall. This is to allow the floor to expand and retract during temperature changes. If you install it without removing the skirting board, you'll need to install a trimming timber bead or mould to your existing skirting to cover the gap.