Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Possible issues with furniture restoration. Hard fix?

Wouldy
Making a Splash

Possible issues with furniture restoration. Hard fix?

Hi everyone. 

Nice to be here. Didn't know it existed. I'm a newbie to woodworking. Mostly self taught. 

I'm thinking if buying this to restore and sell. I'm not sure if the missing veneer is going to be too time consuming/expensive to fix. I do this for the absolute love and passion but hey these things can cost too. 

I lost mega on my first recent job. 

I restored and re upholstered these chairs. It was my very first time and my first job. It was an extremely hard project for a newbie but I did it all myself. 

IMG20201125143719.jpg

IMG20210106075044.jpg

 I am hesitant to buy this next item although I absolutely love it. It has missing veneer in a few spots. I just want to get others thoughts about it. I'm not keen to go through what I did with the chairs to get them looking like that. 

IMG_20210109_131846.jpg

IMG_20210109_131917.jpg

IMG_20210109_131942.jpg

IMG_20210109_132005.jpg

Peggers
Becoming a Leader

Re: Possible issues. Hard fix?

@Wouldy Love those chairs - great job!

That's a really good looking cabinet, but it does have some pretty harsh scratches and patches. Having said that, if you're prepared for a long session with the electric sander, I think it could come up nicely. I've always wanted to have a go at one of those Art Deco cabinets - I like the combo of dark wood and glass. I've thought about putting some brightly coloured perspex and LED lights in the glass cabinet parts to get a real mix of modern and heritage.

Good luck if you take it on - would love to see the results!

redracer01
Kind of a Big Deal

Hello @Wouldy ,