Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Untreated Pine for computer desk?

kartheesh
Cultivating a Following

Untreated Pine for computer desk?

Hi All,

I am a newbie to woodwork and planning to do my first furniture which is a Home Office Computer Table.

Is it fine to use Untreated Pine for this project ?? 

I have just got my Drill and Circular Saw but a lot confused with the Wood as the plan just talks about measurement not about the type of treatment. I am looking at pine as that is the cheaper wood i can afford for this project. 

Also is the benchtop panel [ Finger Jointed Panels ] available in Bunnings an option  for my Desktop?

Any other suggestions or thing to consider for this project.

Rough Plan of the TableRough Plan of the Table

Desk Plan 

https://www.ana-white.com/woodworking-projects/rustic-x-desk

Thanks,

Rajkumar

redracer01
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Untreated Pine for Computer Desk ??

The answer to your question is Yes! UT is the reference you need when asking about timber at Bunnings ( untreated timber ) there is structural ( very hard and stiff ) and there is ( non-structural project based which is used for making diy tables and furniture ) Often you will find the untreated timber under the roof and away from the rain. Where treated timber is robust, smelly and can be left in the open weather. Calculate the length of timber you will require and then make sure you have the vehicle to take it with you! Finger jointed pine bench tops are a regular staple at Bunnings. You should find it near the trade area inside the building. Goodluck and have a safe diy adventure. 

Here is a link to the computer table I made.

https://www.workshop.com.au/t5/Living-and-Bedroom/Old-school-computer-table/td-p/22460

I eventually painted it and my wife allowed it in to our new house.