Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How can I enclose my veranda for a catio please?

Tia98
Finding My Feet

How can I enclose my veranda for a catio please?

Hello, 

Can I please have some advice regarding enclosing my veranda to make a catio? I have never done anything like it before. I was thinking about using pet mesh and securing it using H3 treated pine cut to fit along each metal post and railing (for added security and so I can attach shelves for my cats to sit on in the future). I'm not sure what screws I should use or if I should use brackets maybe? Although my veranda is enclosed, whenever it rains it does get very wet, should I coat the treated pine in something extra? I would also appreciate advice on how to add a secure door, so my cats can have 24/7 access while still being safe at night etc. My entry is very wide so I was thinking about adding a thick piece of wood from roof to floor a little further than the railing for a secure door entry. Do you have any advice for me?

Thank you! 

1000010015.jpg

1000010019.jpg

1000010022.jpg

JacobZ
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How can I enclose my veranda for a catio please?

Hi @Tia98,

Thank you for your question about installing a cat friendly patio and welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community, it's fantastic to have you with us.

You could line the openings between the posts and rails with 70x35 H3 pine attached with Zenith 10G x 50mm Galvanised Countersunk Head Metal Screws. Once framed out, you could then attach Cyclone Pet Mesh™ Flyscreen to the timber using a Trojan 3 In 1 Heavy Duty Staple Gun Set

The door sounds like it might be the biggest challenge. Can you advise whether you want the door to be for cats only or humans as well?