Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to add under house screening to metal posts?

Nonithepony
Finding My Feet

How to add under house screening to metal posts?

7F96BACA-A822-4BDB-8B99-6301BA0BB1D6.jpeg

Hi, I am new to DIY, I wish to add screening under my house, thinking of just vertical wooden palings on a couple horizontal pieces, but how do I attach the horizontal pieces to the metal stumps supporting my house? thank you.

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to add under house screening to metal posts?

Hello @Nonithepony

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's fabulous to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about adding under house screening to metal posts.

Is this house a brand new build? I only ask because that would mean that the builder's warranty is still in effect. We don't want to do anything that might void this warranty by accidentally adding a structure that might compromise your house warranty. You'll notice that there is a cement barrier on the footing of your house. Normally each post would just have an ordinary square cement base for the metal post to sit in. 

But not in this situation, the concrete actually travels from post to post. In fact, it goes all the way around the house. It acts as a barrier of sorts underground. Just to be safe I don't recommend tampering with that barrier. Traditionally putting up a screen under the house would have been straightforward as the posts were made of timber.

In this instance, I recommend building a timber frame around the metal posts in order for you to attach the timber rails and create your screening. I suggest that the frame be at least 100mm off the ground and 100mm away from the bottom of the house. This is to prevent any chance of termites travelling along the length of the timber to your house.