Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Low level deck as extension to a patio

maccifo
Cultivating a Following

Low level deck as extension to a patio

Hi all,

I am new in this workshop. I am building a low level deck as an extension to a patio.

The dimensions are approx. 6m x 1,15m. I am thinking on using a frame (joists) of 90x45cm and bearers of 150x45. The heigh of the deck is around 400-500mm from the bottom so I don't want to over engineer it.

maccifo_0-1607166432786.png

The side touching the patio will have dyna bolts and i was thinking to use the wooden posts like the picture below.

maccifo_1-1607166535020.png

Four or five posts on the bearers and then another few next to the previous patio just in case. 

The distance from the patio is 1150mm so i don't want to put too much so it can only breathe and dry out.

Any suggestion?

Regards,

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Low Level Deck

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @maccifo. It's fantastic to have you join us and many thanks for sharing your project.

If the patio is concrete, then you can Chemset threaded rod into it and connect the ledger plate directly to it. Remember to leave a gap between the timber and the concrete for airflow. This would do away with the need for posts next to the patio. 

From my calculations, 90 x 45mm treated pine should be able to span the 1150 width with no need for those two bearers mid-span which you have in your plan. Or are you planning on having a cantilever portion at the front of the deck?

Are you going to use Full Stirrup Solid Stem Post Anchors to secure the posts into the footers?

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
maccifo
Cultivating a Following

Hi Mitchell,

Thanks for the reply.