Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

My caravan renovation

linfrank
Growing in Experience

My caravan renovation

Hi all,

It's been suggested that I should start a discussion about my caravan repairs so here goes. It's a small 1970s Franklin van. My plan intially is to address the water damage and window open/close issues. Repair of these two areas will make the van basically livable.

Eventually like to do full reno but that will take time.

I am a raw beginner so just stumbling along. My first task is to purchase a large tarp to cover it. She doesn't fit in the garage and is being rained on as I write this 😩

I imagine I will be looking for knowledgeable people to ask a multitude of questions of down the track.

Best wishes to all

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: My caravan renovation

Hi @linfrank,

It's great to see you start a discussion about your project! I'm sure our members will be keen to hear all about it as you progress along. 

I'd recommend you invest in a heavy-duty tarp. They're much better quality than those traditional blue tarps and more suited to abuse from the elements. By the time a couple of the blue tarps have ripped in high winds, you'd have already paid for one of the heavy-duty options.

I'm looking forward to seeing some images of your caravan and discussing the rot issue. I'm sure @Peggers will have plenty of helpful advice as well. I trust you've found his How To series (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3) on renovating a caravan helpful, but he's also contributed several other caravan projects.

You'll find these an interesting read:

Here are some of the caravan projects our members are working on:

As you can see, we have a very active community of caravan restoration enthusiasts, so you come to the right place for assistance with your project. Please let us know when you need assistance or have questions. We're here to help.

Mitchell